Revamp your Lamp

IMG_8477.JPG

Okay, Blah, Am I right?! This lamp is just SO boring, and it has seen better days. By better days I mean days when it didn’t have  sharpie on it from when I wanted to do anything, but my school work. This has needed a major makeover since I got it, but I never knew exactly what to do with it.

I was going for an easy, different, vintage look when I did this. I, personally, had all of the materials at home so I didn’t need to go out and get anything, but they could easily be found at Michael’s (http://www.michaels.com/search?q=mod%20podge).

Materials:

  • Mod Podge foam brush
  • Mod Podge Gloss
  • An old book that you don’t mind ruining
  • Elmer’s Glue Stick

The Process:

  1. Tear the book pages into uneven, medium sized pieces.

IMG_8478.JPG

2. Glue the back of the pages.

3. Press them onto the lamp shade-around 4 at a time(the glue makes it easier to handle when the mod podge is still wet).

4. Cover the pages generously with mod podge.

5. Repeat step 2-4 until the lamp shade is completely covered.

6. If you don’t want to overlap the pages you don’t have to but I like the way it looks when the light is turned on.

IMG_8482.JPG

7. Wait for the mod lodge to completely dry.

8. Re-glue any loose ends, as desired, and do a second coat of mod lodge, so it will be more durable.

I was relatively apprehensive about this idea, but I am actually very pleased with the way it turned out, and I think it is extremely unique. Have Fun!

 

Leave a Reply

